Lobby traffic is exceptionally busy noon to 2:00 pm and 3:45 pm to 4:30 pm. Expect longer than normal wait times to transact your business when arriving between these hours.
Obtaining a marriage license in Multnomah County
A marriage license purchased from Multnomah County may be used anywhere in the State of Oregon. Marriage license applications can be completed online at www.multcomarriage.org or at the Customer Service office located at 501 SE Hawthorne Blvd, Suite 175, Portland OR 97214.
Whether you complete the marriage license application online or in the office, both bride and groom must appear together in our office to sign the license at the time it is issued. Both parties must have valid picture I.D. in the name that is entered on the marriage license application.
The fee for an Oregon Marriage license is $60 in cash or certified funds only. The license becomes effective three calendar days after issuance and payment. The license remains in effect anywhere in Oregon for 60 days.
No medical exam or blood tests are required.
The marriage license application requires both the bride and groom to establish the legal name each will take after the marriage ceremony and is limited to combinations allowed by state law. This information is mandatory and must be determined prior to the completion of your application.
No personal checks or credit cards. No refunds.
APPLY ONLINE at www.multcomarriage.org
Three day waiting period
Oregon law requires a three day waiting period before a ceremony can take place after a license has been issued. However, this waiting period may be waived by the Deputy County Clerk in Multnomah County. The waiver must be signed at the time the marriage license is issued.
Consent for applicants 17 years of age
Oregon Law prohibits the issuance of a marriage license to anyone under 17 years of age. Applicants who are 17 years old must obtain the written consent of their parent or guardian. Forms available at time of application. If either applicant has no parent or guardian residing within the State of Oregon and has resided within Multnomah County for six months, an Affidavit stating these facts must be obtained from a third party. Obtain application from the Marriage License Section.
After the marriage license is issued
Remember, the license is not in effect until three calendar days after it is issued. It remains valid for 60 days.
The license can be used anywhere in the State of Oregon. Your ceremony can be officiated by:
- A religious leader who is authorized by a religious congregation/organization.*
- A County Clerk.
- An Oregon judge. View a list of Multnomah County judges.
- An active Federal/Military judge.
Two persons age 18 or older are required to witness the solemnization of the marriage.
Following the marriage ceremony, the completed License and Record of Marriage must be returned to the Multnomah County Marriage License Section within ten (10) days of the marriage. The officiating religious leader, judge, or County Clerk is responsible for returning the License and Record of Marriage.
A marriage license form that is not completed properly will delay processing. The bride and groom will not be able to obtain copies. An instruction sheet is provided as part of the packet of information given to the bride and groom when the license is issued.
*There is no requirement for the officiant to register their ordination or ministerial certificate/license prior to performing the ceremony. However, the officiant will need to provide on the marriage license the name, physical address and phone number of the organization/congregation that granted authority.
Obtaining a Certified Copy
Certified Copies will be available after the marriage has been performed and the license has been returned to our office completed correctly. You can print and use this form or send in a written request. Written requests should include the names of the bride and the groom as they appear on the license, the date of the wedding, the name and address to where the copy is to be mailed. Fees must be submitted with the request. The fee is $7.75 for the first certified copy and $4.00 for each additional certified copy (when purchased at the same time).
Make check or money order payable to Multnomah County.