Oregon State Domestic Partnership
Lobby traffic is exceptionally busy noon to 2:00 pm and 3:45 pm to 4:30 pm. Expect longer than normal wait times to transact your business when arriving between these hours.
On February 4, 2008 Multnomah County began registering domestic partnerships in accordance with the Oregon Family Fairness Act. The law creates a domestic partnership system for same sex couples within the state of Oregon. As required by law at least one partner must be a resident of Oregon.
Non-same sex couples may register through Multnomah County domestic partnership.
The fee for registration is $60 in cash or certified funds. No personal checks. No refunds.
The Declaration of Domestic Partnership form must be notarized before it can be accepted. The Oregon Secretary of State maintains a list of Notaries Public within the state and most banks and financial institutions employ notaries.
Effective January 1, 2010
With the passage of House Bill 2839 during the 2009 legislative session, Oregon Registered Domestic Partners can document the legal name each will use after the Declaration of Oregon Registered Domestic Partnership form is filed. The law limits the options of the surname to:
- Retaining the surname prior to the partnership;
- Changing the surname to the other party's surname; or,
- Changing the surname to hyphenated combination of the partners A's and partner B's surnames, in either order.
The middle name may only be changed if a new surname (last name) is selected. In that situation, the middle name may only be changed to the person’s current surname (last name) at the time of partnership.
Refer to information sheet “Last name taken following a Declaration of Oregon Registered Domestic Partnership after January 1, 2010” for more information.
Obtaining a Certified Copy
Certified Copies may be purchased at the time of registration or by written request at a later date. The request should include the full names of Partner A and Partner B as they appeared on the registration, the date of the registration and address to where the copy is to be returned. For your convenience you can print and use this form or send in a written request. Fees must be submitted with the request. The fee is $7.75 for the first certified copy and $4.00 for each additional certified copy (when purchased at the same time).
Make check or money order payable to Multnomah County.
- Press release: Multnomah County readies for statewide domestic partnerships
- Frequently asked questions
- Domestic Partnership Declaration Form: Must be printed on 8.5x14 inches paper to be processed.
- Oregon Secretary of State's list of Notaries Public for Multnomah County